Alliance Leaders Recognised with Australia Day Honours

We are fortunate to have an extraordinarily high calibre of people leading the Alfred Research Alliance in our quest for excellence across all endeavours. Over the weekend, some of those people were recognised with Australia Day honours. They include:

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

Prof Andrew Way AM, Chief Executive of Alfred Health, is just one of several leaders of the Alfred Research Alliance who were recognised in the 2019 Australia Day Honours.


Prof Andrew Way AM, Chief Executive, Alfred Health
Dr Margaret Hellard AM, Deputy Director – Programs, Burnet Institute
Prof Jennifer Hoy AM, Director – HIV Service, Alfred Health.
A/Prof Bill Johnson AM, Program Director – Surgical Services, Alfred Health

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia
Prof Sharon Lewin AO, Board Member, Burnet Institute
Prof Catriona McLean AO, Anatomical Pathology, Alfred Health
Prof John McNeil AO, formerly Head, Monash Public Health and Preventive Medicine

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division
Mr Ross Cooke OAM, Board Member, Burnet Institute.
Dr Bryan Walpole OAM, Former Director of Emergency Medicine, The Alfred (1980 – 1985)

Sincere congratulations to all these precinct leaders for their well-deserved recognition.